General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

04 camry power steering pump options

Search this Thread

Old 04-17-2022, 10:08 AM
Default 04 camry power steering pump options

Hey, Newbie here, working on my in-laws Camry. It's an 04 v6 XLE. Looking at the online dealerships there are 2 options for a power steering pump. They are based on what type of flow control valve you have. Type A or type B. I pulled the pump and flow control valve but it doesn't look like it matches the lousy diagrams on the toyota sites. Attached a copy of the schematic, part# 44330 highlighted in green is the flow control valve. Below are images of my valve and pump. thanks in advance if you can clear this up for me.

Old 04-17-2022, 12:54 PM
Super Moderator

Confusing yes!

Every parts website has their own way of describing parts.

I went to an official Toyota dealer online website that sells pars online. These sites allow one to input the VIN and model number.

Per the Toyota dealer parts website, if the cars VIN is as shown on the Snap-On file and the model is an XLE then the part number is below.

44310-06080

https://parts.olathetoyota.com/v-2004-toyota-camry--xle--3-0l-v6-gas/steering--pump-and-hoses

If you click on the part you will get a more detailed drawing of the unit. The valve appears to be the same as in the Snap-On diagram.

https://parts.olathetoyota.com/oem-p...MtMGwtdjYtZ2Fz

You should confirm the above info!

It appears the pumps are also differentiated by how the drive pulley attaches as in a bolt on or press on (splined shaft).

The Snap-On drawing shows a pressed on pulley.

As far as the valve goes, I find no reference at the usual parts sites as to needing to know the valve type when ordering a pump.

Old 04-18-2022, 09:24 AM