General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

07 auto trans

Search this Thread

Old 07-01-2009, 06:37 PM
Default 07 auto trans

New here,great site.Does o7 auto tans require filter or is a sealed system?Need to change fluid,any tips would be helpful.Thanks.

Old 07-01-2009, 08:09 PM

I've never seen an engine oil like filter on a auto trans from the manufacturer. The only "filtering" is a fine screen in the pan which usually never needs replacing, maybe only cleaning. The pan also contains magnets to hold metal bits. I'd confirm with the dealer. How many miles on trans fluid?

Old 07-02-2009, 12:49 AM

The 07 uses Toyota WS ATF- which doesn't need replacement under normal usage. While i would always recommend to replace this fluid regardless of what Toyota says- i would suggest you use only Toyota WS fluid.

JJ

Old 07-02-2009, 05:22 PM

fluid has 35k on it.I'm a pretty capable weekend mechanic,would this be like a routine trans service?

Old 07-14-2009, 11:33 PM