General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

1990 camry Issue... help??

Search this Thread

Old 06-14-2007, 10:03 AM
Default 1990 camry Issue... help??

Hi everyone,

I am new here I found this forum while trying to research a camry problem.

Ok, hopefully someone can give me an idea of what may have happened. Let me give some background, I am a disabled vet, my wife owns a small cleaning business, we barely make ends meet here. She needed another vehicle and since we are not rolling in money or financially able we could not opt for the shiny new car with the large payments. She has saved every penny that she could for the last 2 years and had 1900 bucks. We found a 1990 camry in the local paper for 1700 went last night to look at it, the car was in great shape with no outward appearences of anything that may be a problem. it had 116K and I looked it over good. No leaks everything seemed to work fine. took it for a drive it was nice and solid throughout. good.

Paid the 1700.00 and drove off, 5 miles down the road... I noticed the "lights" light come on... then 10 seconds later it was the "brake" light a few seconds after that it was the "battery" light, then the whole dash lit up like a christmas tree.. the transmission started shifting down and up on its own.. with no input from me, you could see the gear position indicator lights on the dash flickering and lighting on and off.. at one point my wife told me that she could see the "back up" lights come on when she was behind me. After the tranny got a mind of its own, the temp gauge dropped to nothing.. a zero reading, as I was pulling off the shoulder the engine quit.. died... would crank but not start.