General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:
Old 08-26-2015, 11:17 AM
How-Tos on this Topic
Last edit by: IB Advertising
See related guides and technical advice from our community experts:

Browse all: Specifications & General Maintenance
Print Wikipost

Basic 5th Gen engine and tranny questions

Search this Thread

Old 01-24-2009, 01:46 PM
Default Basic 5th Gen engine and tranny questions

Hello,
Newbie here planning on buying a “new” car and leaning towards a fifth generation (’02-’06) Camry but also considering a BMW 330 and a Mazda 3 (hatch). I plan on doing as much of the upkeep I can, am pretty good around cars and have maintained a ’94 Mustang GT for the past 10 with no problems (including timing chain, clutch, suspension, exhaust, brakes, ignition, etc.). I don’t plan on souping this up, other than possibly suspension and a decent sound system (and a good tune up, of course).

Although I haven’t compared all the combinations of engines and transmissions, ideally I’d get a manual I-4 with sunroof. With that said, I’m not opposed to the automatic if it’s more reliable than the manual transmission, or equally fuel efficient. I don’t care for the trunk lid wing and chrome interior trim. The only model I’ve driven was an ’04 XLE V6 (auto) and despite liking it, found the suspension way too soft.

Questions:

Q1. From my preliminary research the engine choices are either a 2.4L I-4 and a 3.0L V6. Is either more reliable, or trouble-free, than the other?

Q2. In terms of reliability, is one transmission more reliable or durable than the other? I prefer the manual but realize some cars’ automatics are lower maintenance than their manual transmissions. Also, were there really no manual V6s?