New Member Area New to Toyota Camry Forums? Stop in tell us about you.

First time with a 95

Search this Thread

Old 05-12-2008, 08:42 AM
Default First time with a 95

Hello everyone! About a year and a half ago I bought a 95 Camry when it really seemed that gas prices were going to skyrocket. Now, if only predicting stocks were that easy.
So, by no means am I a "car guy", I'm just a 31 year old teacher that needed cheap, reliable transportation.
I'm new at message boards, so I'm going to just post this here. My wife works at a Vo-Tech school, so they're nice enough to do simple maint. for labor. Recently, we discovered that it had started to leak oil pretty badly. The Vo-Tech teacer diagnosed it as leaking from the intake manifold and the head gasket. Not being a car person, I do know that the head gasket is a big deal. He told us he wasn't comfortable doing the repairs, and that I shouldn't worry about it. However, I don't think he realizes our financial outlook, and the fact that we want to run it as long as it will go. He just assumes we can, and want to, go buy a new car.
So, what do you think? By the way, it has 100,000 original miles on it. Should I get it fixed, how much should I anticipate spending? Thanks in advance!!!!!!

Old 05-12-2008, 10:36 AM
Super Moderator
Default RE: First time with a 95

What engine does the car have I4 or V6?

Are you sure the teacher stated the head gasket and not the valve cover gasket?

If leaking that bad take a flashlight and scan the engine for oil leaks, engine on and off. Use a mirror to look behind then engine.

Old 05-12-2008, 11:06 AM

Thanks for the reply. It's an I4, and he def. said head gasket.

Old 05-12-2008, 02:37 PM
Super Moderator