New Member Area New to Toyota Camry Forums? Stop in tell us about you.

in over my head, engine dissection advise?

Search this Thread

Old 03-13-2012, 12:57 AM
Red face in over my head, engine dissection advise?

you may want to sit down for this one....or have a beer on hand.
I have been preparing my 99 camry (2.2l 4cyl) for engine removal. This is my second Camry (the first one, a 92, is working fine). Both were handed down to me by my parents God love 'em, and each were bought new in their respective years. What happened with this one started with a tapping sound coming from the engine and.....well long story short(and abstractified): metal shavings in the oil pan, one rod bearing is WAY WAY bigger and thinner than the others, the others are chewed up and we are trying to get the crankshaft out to replace it or have it machined. I'm sorry.... I'm a noob and this is making me cry. Am I doing the right thing by taking out the engine? It feels like it is taking forever and maybe someone out there can help us with more directly helpful research links or something? I have been doing reseach every day on all kinds of related subjects but nothing tells me directly. anyway...hi! I guess the Ice is broken pretty good now....

Old 03-13-2012, 10:28 AM
Super Moderator

Are you debating about removing the crank with engine in car or out?

It may be possible to take the crank out with the engine still in the car. If my car unless some reason exists I don't know of would remove the engine. There is more upfront work but once out access would be much easier.

The engine can come out the top or bottom. The bottom requires a lift to raise the car high enough for the engine to clear. Suggest going out the top. Take the trans out with the engine.