General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Old 08-26-2015, 04:05 PM
How-Tos on this Topic
Last edit by: IB Advertising
See related guides and technical advice from our community experts:

Browse all: Interior
Print Wikipost

Dome Light Blows 7.5 Fuses

Search this Thread

Old 02-04-2011, 05:37 PM
Exclamation Dome Light Blows 7.5 Fuses

Hi all, I am new here,

I have a 1999 Toyota Camry with 190k miles on it. Recently my dome light went out so I have decided to replace it with an LED equvalent. Problem turned out to be when I tried to replace the bulb, the 7,5 dome fuse (under the hood) was blown. I though no big deal so I bought more fuses. I kept blowing the 7.5 fuses so I tried a higher ones. Well call me dumb if you wish (im a newb to cars, but I am trying to learn) I ended up with a 30A fuse in place of 7.5 because everything up to that was blown. Well in the end the lamp turned red hot and melted some of the components of the dome light piece ( wires running up to it seem undamaged when I removed the dome light housing ). When the fuse was blown, by clock, dome light, and trunk light did not work. When I replace the fuse the clock starts to work, and so is the trunk light; whenever I try to plug something into the domelight, it blows the fuse. I am out of options ( and I do not want to go to the mechanic yet ) so please suggest what may be going on with the system. Also, my automatic light stopped shutting off automatically as I close my drivers door.

Old 02-04-2011, 08:14 PM
Super Moderator

Is this the light on the headliner with the On/Off/On with the door open switch positions?

You have removed the dome light fixture?

The dome light is powered by a red wire. One end of the bulb socket always has power.

The dome light has an On/Off/On when the door is open switch on the fixture.