hooked up jumper cables the wrong way - Camry Forums - Toyota Camry Forum

Go Back  Camry Forums - Toyota Camry Forum > General Toyota Camry Forums > General Tech
Reload this Page >

hooked up jumper cables the wrong way

General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

hooked up jumper cables the wrong way

Reply

 
 
 
  #1  
Old 11-28-2015, 01:05 AM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 4
Default hooked up jumper cables the wrong way

Hey everyone. So I had a bad morning about 2 weeks ago. My 2007 camry le v6 had a dead battery. I jumped it with my 98 & hooked up the jumper cables the wrong way. My 07 started but the cel was on & I had no throttle. It would still go into gear & move but only at an idle. I took it to my mechanic where it has been since. He said it's now turning over but not starting. Could I have fried my computer or do the 07s have a safe mode or limp mode? Any help would be greatly appreciated. Maybe it's possible that my mechanic is over looking something simple. Thanks in advance
 
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-28-2015, 01:43 AM
Senior Member
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Ipswich QLD australia
Posts: 543
Default

usually the heavy fuses blow in the engine bay ... thats its safety

the ecu may have its own fuse

if all the fuses are ok

swap out the ecu with the correct one see if it starts

dont know if that model includes the tranny control in its ecu or if it is a separate unit
 

Last edited by dirty hands; 11-28-2015 at 01:47 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-28-2015, 02:12 AM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 4
Default

I don't know what my mechanic checked yet. I've been busy since it's been there. If it's the case Is a new ecu expensive
 
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-28-2015, 02:39 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Ipswich QLD australia
Posts: 543
Default

these camrys have a diagnostics port for your mechanic to retrieve fault codes

should be obd 2 codes
here is the list
http://www.obd-codes.com/trouble_codes/

with these codes you can narrow down the problem... before buying un-needed parts

ECU... no not usually expensive . but it is an import.... might be harder to find the correct one

ring around your local area and state for a car wrecker that has toyota camrys

you have to ask for the exact one out of a 2007 camry le v6
 

Last edited by dirty hands; 11-28-2015 at 03:03 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-30-2015, 02:58 PM
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: PTW
Posts: 11,157
Default

Usual it is a fuse and not the ECU. Take note the anti-theft system may activate if the battery is disconnected. This will prevent the engine from starting.

The ECU has a part number on it such as 89661-06C40. If needing a replacement get one with the exact same part number as the one on the car. There is an active reselling market for used ECU's. Also try Ebay.
 
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-30-2015, 03:14 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 4
Default

Thanks a lot guys for all the feedback. Just got my camry back, was just some fuses. Makes me very happy lol. Thanks again guys
 
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-01-2015, 09:25 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 63
Default

Originally Posted by thetripler View Post
Thanks a lot guys for all the feedback. Just got my camry back, was just some fuses. Makes me very happy lol. Thanks again guys
Great to hear its an easy fix for you. Happened too to my brother's '06 rav4 with toasted fuse.
 
Reply With Quote
Reply
 
 
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
sknutson
General Tech
2
11-07-2013 07:28 PM
sknutson
TCF Help & Suggestion Center
0
11-06-2013 09:07 PM
ToyotaJay
DIY - Do It Yourself
0
06-03-2012 01:47 PM
Cartercao
Appearance
0
08-31-2010 10:35 PM
santolucha
General Tech
2
01-23-2007 12:38 AM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread