New Member Area New to Toyota Camry Forums? Stop in tell us about you.

Bought a new to me Camry- I have a few questions

Search this Thread

Old 10-26-2023, 10:26 AM
Default Bought a new to me Camry- I have a few questions

Hello Everyone,

I recently bought a high mileage 2005 Camry v6 with 255k on the odometer. The vehicle seemed very clean and runs perfect. This is my first time buying a high mileage car and i would like to go over some of the maintenance.
All fluids look in excellent condition except the trans fluid. It looks more on the brown side, but does not smell burnt. What would you guys do? Drain and refill? Leave it alone? Also, it seems like it is past the max line. Not sure what to do here as i would like to keep it running for another 200k at least
All suggestions are appreciate it.

Old 10-26-2023, 11:05 AM
Super Moderator

Congrats on you new car.

How are you checking the fluid?

The owners manual should have directions. If you don't have one download from the site below:
https://www.toyota.com/owners/warranty-owners-manuals/

A normal procedure would be to check it with the engine running at idle after moving the gear selector from P to Low and back.

One can check the fluid when cold or hot. If cold let the idle speed drop down to normal after engine start. Hot would be after driving to allow the fluid to reach normal operating temp.

The dipstick has two set of notches which should be marked with a "C" or "H" or such to indicate cold and hot. Use the appropriate marks for the fluid the fluid temp. The fluid should be between the notches for the temp of the fluid.

Take several readings if necessary as sometimes the dipstick picks up fluid from the dipstick tube which causes an inaccurate reading. Checking hot is supposed to be best.

Its normal for the fluid on the stick to read high when the engine is off as it pools in the trans oil pan.