New Member Area New to Toyota Camry Forums? Stop in tell us about you.

simple fuse installation gone wrong 2004 camry

Search this Thread

Old 08-27-2022, 02:24 AM
Default simple fuse installation gone wrong 2004 camry

Ahoy everyone, new here. I apologize if im posting in the wrong section. I have an 04 4i camry. 2nd camry ive owned. Little bit about me, I am a welder by trade and fairly good with navigating machinery.I know my tools very well. My Experience in Automotive is one of necessity with the exception being the camaro my father and l built in my late teens. Typically I'd learn how to do repairs beyond standard maintenance as they arose.

Recently the power port under the center console stopped working. Naturally the first thing I do is pop off the interior fuse panel door. Find the suspected fuses location and pull it. Sure enough the 15amp fuse is kaput. Swap it out, check the power port and problem solved........? o.O

Or so I thought, at the time the driver and passenger window were rolled down. The driver works fine. The passenger however is stuck down and completely unresponsive. No motor sounds, neither the passenger side or driverside switches do anything.

I checked and double checked the fuses and made sure they were seated correctly and weren't blown.
Disconnected the battery and waited 20min before reconnecting it.
I visually checked the relay. Should I have checked it with a multi meter?
Beyond that I have no idea how changing the 15amp power port fuse could cause the window to quit working altogether.

thank you for taking time out of your day to read this Any help here I am eternally grateful for

Old 08-27-2022, 12:54 PM
Super Moderator

The ACC relay powers the radio, cig lighter, power port outlet, etc. Does the radio work, is so the relay works.The power windows are on a different circuit.