DIY - Do It Yourself Within you will find how-to's on many aspects of modding and caring for your ride as told by your fellow members.

Shift Solenoid A-Electrical, PO753, engine light on, need feedback.

Search this Thread

Old 02-26-2019, 08:18 AM
Smile Shift Solenoid A-Electrical, PO753, engine light on, need feedback.

Okay, so I bought this 98 camry for $400 and being I haven't driven in over 20 years I didn't know too much about how cars work these days with a computer in it.. But I did catch up fast. I'm not a mechanic by any means, but I am very mechanically inclined, I do fix computers on my own and do some electrical on TV's, mostly changing out boards or soldering capacitors and getting them going again.
Let me tell you what I've done so far to get this car up to speed, it does purr like a kitten. First thing I did was buy a new battery, then I bought a starter cause the old one was having issues. I installed it and it works great. I also installed a used fuel pump which I bought cheap online, that worked well also, My gas gauge wasn't working and replacing the pump did the job, I guess it had a bad float.
Next, I tested all the fuses on the vehicle and all tested okay. I replaced the car radio and bought an okay aftermarket with GPS and rear camera. That worked out well too. I changed the rear bumper, installed new side view mirrors for both sides, but I only connected the drivers side which works great. I also replaced all the door handles, now that wasn't too bad but the drivers side was a pain in the ***. But I got it hooked up. Last thing I did was change the transmission fluid hoping that might be the problem with the check engine light.. I only did a drain and fill, but that idiot light is still on, it's not flashing. I did clear it a couple of times but as soon as I start driving it comes back on.