General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

2007 Camry, AC blowing but not cold

Search this Thread

Old 08-13-2013, 12:05 PM
Default 2007 Camry, AC blowing but not cold

I have read a few threads and still not sure what the problem is. The cooling fans don't seem to be moving at all. Not sure if it is a fuse, relay, motor etc.

I'm a novice so as much detail as you can provide would be appreciated.

Thanks

Old 08-13-2013, 03:15 PM
Super Moderator

Describe what you mean by cooling fans. Fans on radiator, heater/AC blower?

Old 08-13-2013, 03:25 PM

the fan behind the grill of my car. I watched a video that called it the cooling fan so I used their terminology.

Old 08-13-2013, 03:56 PM
Super Moderator

Fan operates when the AC compressor on engine engages or when coolant gets too hot.

The AC compressor pulley is always being powered by a belt. Between the pulley and compressor is an electric/magnetic clutch. When the clutch is powered the compressor is engaged. You should be able tell if the compressor is engaging by turning the AC on and watching the engine.

Typically when the compressor engages the engine RPM will drop slightly under the load plus the compressor may make a slight noise.

If the compressor is not engaging the fans on the same wiring circuit may not being engaging for this reason.

If the climate system is manual check for a blinking green light on the AC button when AC turned on. If blinking there is a problem.

The fans should come on if you let the engine idle too long as the coolant will reach the point where a switch turns the fans on.

Old 08-13-2013, 04:07 PM

The green light on the AC isn't blinking so I know its not that. It may or may not be the fan, but I am getting air, but it just isn't cold air.